More than 65 years of Jewish Education in Memphis, Tennessee
In 1949, the founders of the Memphis Hebrew Academy had only a dream upon which to build a primary school and yeshiva. With limited funds, but endowed with unswerving determination, the school began with a handful of students in kindergarten and first grade.
In 1964, two high schools were founded as an extension of the Memphis Hebrew Academy, one serving young men and the other serving young women. Originally, the boys high school division was called Yeshiva of the South, and the girls division was named Goldie Margolin School for Girls (named in honor of the mother of founders Ben, Joe, and Sam Margolin).
These schools offered general and Judaic studies, including advanced Torah learning on a post high-school level. In 1981, the school dedicated the facility as the Memphis Hebrew Academy/David Shainberg Education Campus. In 1987, the Memphis Hebrew Academy and the Yeshiva of the South became one institution with classes from pre-kindergarten through twelfth grade.
In 1991, the Memphis Hebrew Academy changed its name to Margolin Hebrew Academy to honor the long-standing support of the Margolin family. The preschool division was dedicated in 1992 as the Leach Early Childhood Education Center in memory of Beatrice and Ben Leach by their children and grandchildren, ardent supporters and alumni of the school. Also in 1992, the boys' division of the Yeshiva of the South was named Cooper Yeshiva High School for Boys in recognition of Irby and Bernice Cooper and their family, long-time supporters of the school. In 1994, Yeshiva of the South was dedicated by Dr. W. Harry Feinstone in memory of his parents.
These families have given generously of their time and resources to ensure that students are provided with skills required to lead fulfilling and committed Jewish lives. Today, MHA-FYOS continues to provide unique opportunities to ensure student success in whatever professional endeavors he or she may choose.